Greenwich Foot Tunnel at 4.00am. Empty, Echoey & Eerie…


Greenwich Foot Tunnel by Marianne Knight on 500px.com


Greenwich Foot Tunnel
by
Marianne Knight

I found myself walking through the Greenwich Foot Tunnel at 4.00am last weekend. My apprehension in doing so, the eerie dampness of the place, my heels echoing loudly and lonely, soon abated when I realised that this tunnel offered perhaps the safest part of my journey; well lit and entirely cctv’d, it is far less precarious than the streets at that time. The eeriness of the experience remained, but I was rather pleased to have a rare opportunity to have the tunnel to myself for once, so if walking through it alone at 4.00am is what it took, it was worth it!

3 thoughts on “Greenwich Foot Tunnel at 4.00am. Empty, Echoey & Eerie…

Leave a Reply

